Monday, June 23, 2014

Book Blast: "Murder by Misrule" by Anna Castle

HF Virtual Book Tours proudly presents Anna Castle's Blog Tour & Book Blast for Murder by Misrule, the first book in her Francis Bacon Mystery Series.  Please join her as she tours the blogosphere from June 2 - July 4.



02_Murder by Misrule Cover
Publication Date: June 8, 2014
Formats: Ebook, Paperback



Add to GR Button



A Kirkus Indie Books of the Month Selection for July.



Francis Bacon is charged with investigating the murder of a fellow barrister at Gray's Inn. He recruits his unwanted protégé Thomas Clarady to do the tiresome legwork. The son of a privateer, Clarady will do anything to climb the Elizabethan social ladder. Bacon's powerful uncle Lord Burghley suspects Catholic conspirators of the crime, but other motives quickly emerge. Rival barristers contend for the murdered man's legal honors and wealthy clients. Highly-placed courtiers are implicated as the investigation reaches from Whitehall to the London streets. Bacon does the thinking; Clarady does the fencing. Everyone has something up his pinked and padded sleeve. Even the brilliant Francis Bacon is at a loss — and in danger — until he sees through the disguises of the season of Misrule.



The Francis Bacon Mystery Series



This series of historical mysteries features the philosopher-statesman Francis Bacon as a sleuth and spymaster. Since Francis prefers the comfort of his own chambers, like his spiritual descendent Nero Wolfe, he sends his pupil, the handsome young Thomas Clarady, out to gather information. Tom loves the work, not least because he meets so many interesting people, like Lord Burghley, Sir Walter Raleigh, and Christopher Marlowe. Murder by Misrule is the first book in the series.



Praise for Murder by Misrule



"Though the plot keeps the pages turning, the characters, major and minor, and the well-wrought historical details will make readers want to linger in the 16th century. A laugh-out-loud mystery that will delight fans of the genre." - Kirkus Starred Review



"Murder by Misrule is a delightful debut with characters that leap off the page, especially the brilliant if unwilling detective Francis Bacon and his street smart man Tom Clarady. Elizabeth Tudor rules, but Anna Castle triumphs." - Karen Harper, author of Mistress Shakespeare



"Well-researched... Murder by Misrule is also enormously entertaining; a mystery shot through with a series of misadventures, misunderstandings,
and mendacity worthy of a Shakespearean comedy." - M. Louisa Locke, author of Bloody Lessons



“Historical mystery readers take note: Murder by Misrule is a wonderful example of Elizabethan times brought to life.” — D. Donovan, eBook Reviewer, Midwest Book Review



Buy the Book


Amazon

Barnes & Noble

Smashwords



About the Author03_Anna Castle



Anna Castle has been a waitress, software engineer, documentary linguist, college professor, and digital archivist. Historical fiction combines her lifelong love of stories and learning. She physically resides in Austin, Texas, and mentally counts herself a queen of infinite space.



For more information please visit Anna Castle's website and blog. You can also follow her on Facebook and Twitter.



Virtual Book Tour Schedule



Monday, June 2

Review at Flashlight Commentary

Book Blast at Mari Reads



Tuesday, June 3

Interview at Flashlight Commentary

Guest Post at Historical Fiction Connection



Wednesday, June 4

Book Blast at The Musings of ALMYBNENR



Thursday, June 5

Book Blast at Our Wolves Den



Friday, June 6

Review at Book Nerd

Book Blast at The Mad Reviewer

Book Blast at A Dream Within a Dream



Saturday, June 7

Book Blast at Kelsey's Book Corner



Sunday, June 8

Review at Carole's Ramblings



Monday, June 9

Review at Ageless Pages Reviews



Tuesday, June 10

Book Blast at West Metro Mommy



Wednesday, June 11

Review at Oh, For the Hook of a Book

Book Blast at Literary Chanteuse



Thursday, June 12

Review at Curling Up By the Fire



Friday, June 13

Book Blast at Cheryl's Book Nook



Monday, June 16

Book Blast at Closed the Cover

Book Blast at To Read or Not to Read



Tuesday, June 17

Review & Giveaway at 100 Pages a Day

Book Blast at A Book Geek



Wednesday, June 18

Book Blast at CelticLady's Reviews



Thursday, June 19

Review at Bibliotica

Book Blast at Historical Fiction Obsession



Friday, June 20

Review at A Bibliotaph's Reviews

Interview at All Things Girl



Saturday, June 21

Book Blast at Griperang's Bookmarks



Monday, June 23

Review, Guest Post, and Giveaway at A Bookish Affair

Interview at Jorie Loves a Story

Book Blast at So Many Books, So Little Time



Tuesday, June 24

Review at Jorie Loves a Story



Wednesday, June 25

Book Blast at Susan Heim on Writing



Thursday, June 26

Review at A Bookish Girl

Review at Layered Pages

Review at Kinx's Book Nook



Friday, June 27

Book Blast at Caroline Wilson Writes



Monday, June 30

Book Blast at Historical Tapestry



Tuesday, July 1

Interview at Starting Fresh



Wednesday, July 2

Review at Kincavel Korner



Thursday, July 3

Review & Giveaway at The True Book Addict

Guest Post & Giveaway at Bibliophilia, Please



Friday, July 4

Review at Svetlana's Reads and Views



 photo c121ce67-93be-48d6-8be1-e7824ce34d14.png

No comments:

Post a Comment

 
Imagination Designs